Simple Tartare Sauce

The last couple of weeks have been somewhat hectic, between working late, having guests and just generally being busy I haven’t managed to document any of our meals. On Wednesday night, my Uncle, Aunt & cousins were here, they spent the last night of their camping holiday at our house so they were ready to just pack up the car and drive the next day. We prepared some traditional Romanian dishes for them, just to show a bit of Bren’s heritage, and as it turns out, they liked the food, success! I didn’t take any photos since we were too hungry and scoffed it all down, but I did mention this blog to them (hi guys!) and promised I would write the recipes down soon.

Until then I thought I had better post something, I have some new meals to cook in the next few days, a couple of which I found on Pinterest. But for now I thought I would show my quick, ridiculously easy tartare sauce, nom. Bren loves this with fish so much that I have to make it every time, and I would never dare to use jarred sauce ever again.

First, the mayonnaise:

3 egg yolks
Teaspoon of Dijon mustard
Salt & Pepper
Freshly squeezed lemon juice
300ml of flavourless oil (I used groundnut)

Pulse the egg yolks and mustard together in a food processor until mixed. You can whisk by hand (takes ages) or use an electric whisk as well (don’t have one of those). Then very slowly start to add the oil in drops into the mix with the processor turned on. Once it is emulsified properly you can start to add the oil in a little faster. You may or may not have to use all of the oil, I didn’t in this particular batch. It still came out really thick. Once this is done and the mayonnaise is at the right consistency, season with salt, pepper and as much lemon juice as you wish for a bit of zesty flavour.

Now to turn this into tartare sauce, it is ridiculously easy. I don’t get too fancy about it, I’m sure there are more extravagant ways of making it, but I simply add equal amounts of chopped capers and chopped gherkins to the mayo and give it a good mix. Yum! I usually end up eating spoons of this before it gets to the table, sorry Bren.

This entry was posted in Sauces and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

